to watch you grow old

Yesterday Dustin and I were reading this fantastic book together called “About Alice”, a book written by a man named Calvin Trillin as a loving tribute to his late wife, Alice. The book is quite simple: to show the world how wonderful, amazing, funny and beautiful his wife was. That’s it. She was his best friend, his muse, his one and only.

Me and Dustin took turns reading chapters out loud to each other and as Dustin read, it made me think of how much our love will grow over our lifetime together. How we will watch the laugh-lines in our faces and creases in our foreheads grow into deep wrinkles, we will be side-by-side as our hands grow soft and weak, and through all this we will find each other just as beautiful and lovely then ever before. It really removes the sting of growing old: growing old while being loved in every part. It makes me feel safe and ready for whatever the next step may be.

i love my husband. maybe one day when i am old, small and fragile, I will sit down and write how this man loved me, just as i am, for a lifetime.

Calvin and Alice Trillin on their wedding day.

4 Comments

Filed under currently reading/listening to

4 responses to “to watch you grow old

  1. wkvancil

    this blog brings a warm fuzzy feeling to my heart. 🙂

  2. thatgirlkate

    I am so glad, Whit! Especially since my last couple blogs were not so warm and fuzzy. 🙂

  3. shelleyjones

    It reminds me of the deep love Alvin Sloane had for his wife. In fact, everything right now reminds me of something off of Alias. It’s all your fault.

  4. Judi Free.com

    Ahhh…that was great. Mark is going to make an awesome old guy some day – it’s one of his greatest aspirations.

Leave a Reply

