do you have to let it linger?

I am currently in a in-between place. I know that something is coming- change is on the horizon. In some ways I know what this change will look like, and some of it is good. But there are things still hidden in darkness, and this is a tiring and frustrating place to be. I am a planner, I want to know what is coming and how I can be prepared for it- mentally, financially, emotionally.

I am currently in the interview process for a new position at my church. If I am not hired does this mean that I am not good enough? Yes, to an extent that is true. It has to be, right? In reference to this job I keep using the term “In the running” which is exactly right. I feel like I am running so hard i see opponents creeping up beside me, passing me by with their qualifications and experience, but then i look behind me and see the ones that don’t have a chance and i have left them in the dust, which is awesome. This process has gone on for about 4 weeks now. 4 weeks! The end is now in sight- only 2 more weeks and there should be a decision made (hopefully). There better be. I am exhausted and need to know the outcome. good or bad. promoted or not. rejected or accepted. i need to know.

Isaiah 50:10-11

Who among you fears the Lord
and obeys his servant?
If you are walking in darkness,
without a ray of light,

trust in the Lord
and rely on your God.

11 But watch out, you who live in your own light
and warm yourselves by your own fires.
This is the reward you will receive from me:
You will soon fall down in great torment.

I will not light my own fire. I will not try to warm myself by what I think is best. I will wait in the darkness, without a ray of light, and TRUST.

4 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, more like Him

4 responses to “do you have to let it linger?

  1. Judi Free.com

    You and I are so similar. Thanks for sharing this scripture and your stand to rely on God in the dark.

    On a side note, why does it take churches so long to make decisions????????? When mark was approached about working at ORCC it took a couple of months for them to come to some sort of offer. It was exhausting.

  2. Anika Lovise

    you rock, ms. kate. wishing you luck on the job front. have you considered writing a devotional book? i think you’d be grrreat!

  3. jesusfreakchef

    Kate, first of all, blessings to you and this possible new endeavour. Next, you need to RELAX. If there is one thing I have come to understand in the scant four years I have known the Lord, it is that he works for the good of all things ALWAYS. Even if you do not get the job, as long as you are praying about these matters with Him, he will find a way for you to grow in this situation, job or not. My wife is a children’s pastor at our church and is also six months pregnant. She is always so tired, and considered giving up the position until baby comes. We prayed and prayed about this. God, however, has made it really difficult for her to give this up, and in the meantime, she constantly marvels to me about the things that God shows her every Sunday no matter how tired she is. She has grown so much in Him in the past few months alone, and she finally says that she should have stopped fretting about her decision a long time ago because it was always in God’s hands. Trust in Him and in ALL things you will find his face and “the peace that surpasses all understanding.”

  4. jesusfreakchef

    One other thing –

    Prayer and supplication with your husband can be the most powerful thing to supply your peace with the Lord on all matters. I have only recently discovered the power of joint prayer with my wife. Let me tell you, it is truly AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

