dead bodies

When there is a particularly horrible catastrophe the one thing that will really haunt me is the survivors describing the dead bodies that they see afterward. I was reading about the horrible cyclone that struck Myanmar (formally Burma) which killed over 22,000 people with 40,000 people still missing. Hurricane Katrina was horrible, but it only killed 1,100 people. Think about that. And now today with the earthquake in China that has killed at least 9,000 people, it really makes me wonder why I live in a place that is seemingly invisible to disasters. We don’t have earthquakes, we don’t get hurricanes, tidal waves or volcano eruptions. The worst that could happen would be a unbelievably bad blizzard, but even that would not compare to these.

When 9/11 happened I had just started my senior year of high school and was 17. I remember that day so clearly and how shocked and numb I felt as I watched the news and the horrible images. The worst thing that I have ever seen was the footage of individual people jumping out of the windows 100+ stories off the ground. It just made it so personal. It was no longer a mass of people killed, there was now 1 specific person that I was witnessing the end of their life. It made it real, it made it personal. And now when I read the survivors talking about seeing “dead bodies” dotting across fields with loved ones crying and searching all around them for family members, it makes it real. It makes me feel guilty to not help in some way, to not be there to give them food or comfort them. I feel helpless and embarrassed. Why was I chosen to live in this perfect Utopian society in Denver, CO? I know we are not immune from disaster, but it sure feels like it.

2 Comments

Filed under in my opionation, Life and Marriage

2 responses to “dead bodies

  1. wkvancil

    This just saddens my heart about what happened in China. I know what you mean Kate, I wish I could go over there and help as much as I could, loving on the people and tending to there medical needs! Especially the kids! I want to pick them up and tell them that it will all be ok and just hold them close, help them find who they belong to.

  2. pb&shelley

    I’ve been thinking about this very thing as well lately. It seems like our little US world has no comprehension of the magnitude of such devastation. Do we just read the online news, shake our heads in disbelief, and then move on with the day’s duties?

Leave a Reply

