someone explain to me…

I would like to know why every time I drive by a Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (on the weekdays) there are no cars in the parking lot. Why is it that no one is ever there outside the 5 hours on Sunday that all the minivans fill the parking lot? Don’t they need to be at the church to plan services or events? I thought they had like dances all the time, when are they planning these? Shouldn’t there be someone there to clean the bathrooms and vacuum the temple? Where is everyone Monday-Friday? I wonder if they go to some secret underground lier where they plot and plan their worship service. Seriously, where are all the bishops and admins all week long? Someone please tell me.

See? No cars anywhere. What the heck??

5 Comments

Filed under in my opionation, life questions, right?, weird mormons

5 responses to “someone explain to me…

  1. i have no answer to your question, but i thought i’d tell you that i actually went to a few mormon dances. i hung out with some fairly cute mormon boys in highschool and went. it always made me laugh cause they’d check your outfit at the door and made sure that your shirt wasn’t too low-cut and your skirt was too short. but, you’d get in there and mosh-pits galore! you can shove people around, just make sure you do it while modestly dressed!

  2. storyteller550

    I have your answer, and really it is derivative of their poor naming system. The confusion arises in their title:

    Church of Jesus Christ of LATTER Day Saints … when they wonder which day they need to be at church, someone tells them it’s the latter day (meaning the last or secondary choice). So, in their minds, as they are debating whether it’s Sunday or Monday, Wednesday or Saturday, someone tells them it’s the latter day. So to that person, it could be Saturday or Monday or _____, but when they drive by with that misinformation and see no one’s there, they leave… and the cycle repeats with the next person because it’s all relative.

    And for the Latter Day Saints that can’t read well (from apparently too much moshing LOL), they see it as the LATER day. So, they never show up cause they have no definite date… just sometime later.

    Peace!

  3. Emily Ward

    Hi!

    OK, so the LDS church doesn’t actually employ anyone for anything. Even the bishops etc all have regular full time jobs elsewhere, so any planning just takes place in their own time/homes. As for services, I don’t think there’s all that much to plan as it’s all very set formulas etc, and, as far as I’m aware, pretty much the same thing/structure each week and in every church. Not that I’ve ever been to a mormon church service, but picked up a few things from my ex-mormon husband and his still-very-mormon family! 🙂

    E x

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Emily- THANK YOU for explaining this to me. I had no idea that they didn’t have a paid staff, it actually explains a lot. I forgot that Mike would know the answer to this 🙂 I am so glad that you read my little blog and shed some light on the mystery. I miss you both very much…and england too. xoxo

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ Steve-see now why they are so confused. “latter” and moshing will do that to you, I guess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

