I remember 9/11

Right after 9/11 happened everyone had bumper stickers on their cars saying “Always Remember 9/11” or something to that effect. As if we could ever forget 9/11. If you asked me where I was on Feb. 9, 2003 I couldn’t tell you, or even July 22, 2005, I have no idea, but I know just where I was on Sept. 11, 2001.

Before the words “Al Qaeda” or “Osama Bin Laden” were in my vocabulary, I remember being at my best friend’s house that morning, in the bathroom blow drying our hair, half asleep from staying up all night talking, when we heard Katie’s mom say “Oh my God.” We came out of the bathroom and looked over the balcony railing right in time to watch the 2nd plane fly into the 2nd building-live-in real time. We stopped getting ready and went downstairs to figure out what the heck was going on. I don’t think I even finished blow drying my hair-which is a big deal when you are a senior in high school.

Katie and I got into our cars and went to school. I turned my radio on to hear the freaked out DJ saying that there was another plane that had just hit the Pentagon. I literally looked through my windshield up to the blue sky wondering if a plane was about to hit me in my little hyduai accent. We got to school and went into the building. Since very few teenagers watch The Today show before coming to school no one really even knew anything had happened. I remember telling some kid in the hall, who I never had talked to before or after, that planes were crashing into buildings in NYC. He said “Why?” and I said “I don’t know! Isn’t that crazy?!” It all seemed so exciting and interesting, but I had no idea how horrible it really was. We all saw what happened the rest of the day- buildings collapsing to the ground, people with dusty, white faces and clothes wandering through the street. There were some teachers who tried to do class as usual which I thought then, and now, was a big mistake. If they could do it over again I think it would be different.

I was so deeply effected by everything that happened, I don’t think I even ate all day. I watched way too many hours of TV and read every newspaper article. The worst was a picture I saw of some man in a suit and white shirt, tie flaping in the wind as he jumped from a window. Seeing that made it about individuals not just a mass of strangers. Individuals who have friends, families, are little league coaches and eat Burger King. People who woke up that morning probably in a rush, stressed out with the weight of their shoulders. How differently would each one had lived if they knew Sept. 11, 2001 would be their last?

Do you remember where you were on 9/11? Post it in the comments, I would love to hear your story.

10 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, fall is beginning, in my opionation, life questions, my opionion does matter, right?, sad stuff, summer is ending

10 responses to “I remember 9/11

  1. Oh my goodness, that picture gives me the chills. I was in my college dorm room blow drying my hair – go figure – and my roommate bust in and turned on the TV and said “Planes are flying into the World Trade Centers”. I had no idea what she was talking about. I thought she meant propeller planes. I also saw the 2nd plane hit live. It was so disturbing. There were a ton of kids at DU who were from the East Coast and who’s parents worked in downtown NYC. It was pure panic at DU. I’ll never forget watching the news coverage. It was addicting in all of the worst ways. Counting the death toll and missing people was so overwhelming.

  2. I was one of those kids at school who hadn’t heard anything yet. As word was getting around, I thought it was all a prank, a joke lie that was being passed through the building.

    I felt really detached from the actual event. NYC was so far away, it seemed. And the shock numbed me. What do you say or do in that kind-of situation?

    I remember wanting to just watch the news to find out what was going on. I tried to hang out by the office because they wheeled a TV in behind Penny’s desk. But, of course, school didn’t stop just because we were being bombed.

  3. I was in a photography class. I remember the uneasy feeling and the chaos that was in the air.

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Judi-how crazy to think you were at DU when I was finishing High School..and I am older than you! We were both drying our hair, ha!

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ Lauren-I love that you commented on this post, considering we were in the same place on this day. I tried watching the TV behind Penny’s desk too. In fact I think I saw the buildings fall on that little TV. I remember feeling bad that I was missing class. wow, talk about stupid.

  6. Mary Hendrickson

    i was still sleeping after a late night in my dorm room and probably was going to be blow drying my hair shortly, but my whole morning was completely changed after i was awoken to my radio station talking about the planes flying into the twin towers. I immediately got up and rushed into our living room and my roommates had the tv on showing the planes crashing. it was so traumatic. we were all just silent and in shock. we went to our school’s chapel later that morning and the entire school just met, cried and prayed. i will never forget it.

  7. Lauren

    Kate (does anyone call you KT anymore?) – you found my blog just in time for my big move to WordPress. I’m still feeling things out, and don’t be surprised if I copy your blog theme:

    http://freechroma.wordpress.com

  8. jennuin

    I remember exactly were I was on 9/11 – read it on my page 🙂 jennuin.wordpress.com

    How are you by the way? It seems everyone I want to keep in touch with has migrated from myspace to wordpress these days 🙂

  9. Yolanda

    I had just arrived at school (to teach) and all of the teachers were talking about it. I didn’t know what was going on since I don’t watch tv or listen to the radio in the mornings. I think they wheeled a tv in during staff mtg. I remember we also prayed together (I was at a christian school). During the day, the teachers helped the students to process what was going on.

  10. Matt

    That was my day year of middle school. I remember coming home and hearing “Planes crash into world trade center” on the radio. I was really confused. 😦
    ❤ to all the people whos family died on 9/11/01

Leave a Reply

