Speaking of Depressing

My friend Mark blogged about recently watching “I Am Sam” and crying like a baby. The movie is ridiculously depressing, and as I said to Mark, I will say again- I hate movies and music that are purposefully depressing, it feels manipulative to me. Sean Penn may be a retard, but technically he is not mentally handicapped, but somehow you watch that movie and it makes you want to just die.

Case in point: “Christmas Shoes” by Newsong. What an over-the-top, purposefully pitiful song.

I knew girls in high school that loved to cry. They would intentionally watch something or listen to something just to cry. Either as a group of girls crying in a soggy huddle or alone in their room staring in the mirror crying and thinking “This is me crying. This is what I look like when I cry” while listening to Everybody Hurts by R.E.M.

Ok, so maybe I was the one crying and looking in the mirror, but I have grown out of that phase and I refuse to watch or listen to things that are only trying to push my cry button with fake, sad scenarios. I don’t mind true stories and I do cry when I hear horrible things on the news, and I feel no shame in that.

While I’m on it, don’t even get me started on the crying girl from American Idol.


Perfect example.

7 Comments

Filed under currently reading/listening to, For the Love of Picard, funny ha ha, groupies, in my opionation, life questions, music, Nerd Alert!, right?, sad stuff, stuff I don't like

7 responses to “Speaking of Depressing

  1. I am trying to think of the amount of times I have seen a girl crying while singing “friends are friends forever” in front of my past churches. The number is pretty high.

    I totally wrote a letter to ripley in my latest blog entry. hah.

  2. I cried on the way to work listening to Miracle Drug by U2.

  3. KATE! I’m with you on this. I don’t even like the real stuff.

    This is the sole reason I REFUSE to watch Extreme Home Makeover. I wont do it, don’t even ask!

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Judi-I KNOW, extreme makeover home edition is the worst. Guaranteed I will cry every time I watch that show, I hate it. I don’t let myself watch it anymore because it is just too emotional and it frustrates me!

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ Mark- how poetic.

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ Josh-I was one of those church girls and the number is pretty high for me. I will have to check out your ode to the talented mr. ripley.

  7. Are you making fun of me? That makes me want to cry.

Leave a Reply

