Sailing on a Ship

I have a friend who is going through Celebrate Recovery. We don’t attend together, but there is a certain comradarie for those of us going through the program. Recently I made a “Recovery Mix” of songs that I felt God was using to encourage me and speak to me while I drudge through the 12 steps. I passed the mix on to my friend and in return he made a mix for me that he is listening to while he goes through recovery. Every song on the mix speaks to me, but the first song is the best. It perfectly describes how I feel as I obediently walk through the program and work the steps, it is able to put into words what I can’t and I want to share it with you.

A voice is on the wind
It calls me further in
I’m heading deeper into Your heart
Your mark is on my chest
My sails filled with your breath
You guide me by the light of the stars

I’m sailing on a ship that’s bound for life
I wrestle with the wind against the tide
I leave it all behind to reach for more
I’m sailing on to Your golden shore

Though skies go blue to grey
And I’m thrown from wave to wave
You still will hear these lungs singing hard
With every storm I face
I find a greater grace
That pulls me deeper into Your heart

I’m sailing on a ship that’s bound for life
I wrestle with the wind against the tide
I leave it all behind to reach for more
I’m sailing on

To where the water’s running sweet and bright
The sun is rising in the eastern sky
I leave it all behind to reach for more
I’m sailing on to Your golden shore

Phil Wickham

Sailing on a Ship

4 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, currently reading/listening to, fall is beginning, Life and Marriage, music, new stuff, rockin' out, So it begins...

4 responses to “Sailing on a Ship

  1. <3.

    Music is healing.

    I had a blast hanging with your hubby last night! I am liking our Monday night nerd-out sessions.

  2. I really love Phil Wickham! Downloading this song now.

  3. you know that is my favorite song on that cd. crazy times. it is an amazing song…wow.

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ chris-thank you for including it on the mix. i can’t think of any song that better describes going through recovery.
    “i leave it all behind to reach for more.”

Leave a Reply

