a bit of this and a bit of that.

Here is a selection of updates, a buffet of thoughts if you will:

1. I recently took up running and was loving it, but unfortunately being a Mahoney means rubber bands for knees and I hurt my left knee. I went to the Dr. today, my usually prompt self was late to my appointment because I was so enthralled by a tight-rope walker on the Today show that I had to stay and watch. I eventually made it to the Dr and she told me I have something called “Runners Knee”, which sounds made up considering it happened while I was running. Yeah sure..”runners knee”…oh and “tennis elbow”, could there also be “bowling shoulder” or “basketball ankle”? She gave me one of those red stretchy things to begin stretches and I have to go to physical therapy, so Kate should be back at it in no time!

2. I am pretty excited because tonight is Pirate Night in Kid’s Church. The idea for Pirate Night came to me when kid’s kept stealing each other’s Fire Bucks (fake money we give as rewards that they spend at our store). We are going to have Pirate Pete tell us how he use to pillage, plunder and steal until he accepted Jesus into his pirate heart and now instead of stealing he gives to others. That is pretty great, right? It’s going to be a great night.

3. I have officially begun Step 4 in Celebrate Recovery which is the Spiritual and Moral Inventory. It is challenging, frustrating, confusing, amazing and wonderful somehow all in one. I am discovering new depths spiritually and new intimacy with Christ. Last night the Holy Spirit showed me Isaiah 1 which is a truly poetic representation of the state I am currently in. The state that sin leaves you in. The state which Christ finds us and rescues us. The state of humility and the end of ourselves. The beginning of restoration and renewal. Clean. New. Life. Hope. Peace. Healing. All for me.

–Why should you be beaten anymore?
Why do you persist in rebellion?
Your whole head is injured,
your whole heart afflicted.

From the sole of your foot to the top of your head
there is no soundness—
only wounds and welts
and open sores,
not cleansed or bandaged
or soothed with oil.

“Come now, let us reason together,”
says the LORD.
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red as crimson,
they shall be like wool.

If you are willing and obedient,
you will eat the best from the land;

but if you resist and rebel,
you will be devoured by the sword.”
For the mouth of the LORD has spoken–

9 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, fall is beginning, funny ha ha, in my opionation, Life and Marriage, more like Him, my opionion does matter, right?, the poet in me

9 responses to “a bit of this and a bit of that.

  1. Mary Hendrickson

    Crazy, Kate! I, yes your Mahoney sister, have runners knee (technically “chondromalacia”) and a red stretchy thing from PT, too! 🙂 Ha! I laughed when I read this, because I was literally diagnosed with the EXACT same thing about a month ago…. ahhh, to have someone who understands my pain. We’ll have to do some exercises together…. 🙂

  2. sarahbowling

    Consider 2Cor 1:8-10 (around these verses). Indescribable treasure, esp in your heart, can come from hardship.

  3. Dwight

    No doubt, there are many of us that need to be sitting right with you, Kate. As I read about Celebrate Recovery, my heart began to ache for more of Christ….so much more. I read in tears today….

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Mary- that is the price we pay for our Mahoney genes. That and our love for honey and cats.

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ Pastor Sarah-
    (8We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. 9Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. 10He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us,)

    “that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, WHO RAISES THE DEAD”. I can feel Him doing that in my heart, raising the dead and bringing life. Amazing. So amazing.

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ Dwight-thank you for your comment and your honesty. Christ will answer the calling from your heart, the asking for more. I am excited for you today. 🙂

  7. This is why I keep a strict elliptical rule when exercising. I did a whole 20 minutes on the elliptical this morning!

    I’m so happy to be in your life while you are going through this process of recovery. Your heart is so soft and open and it encourages me to live more like that.

  8. emily

    hey kate (it’s emily emilia), thank you for sharing that verse. i’m glad to have stumbled across it today in your blog, and it’s really powerful.

  9. Toni Feuerstein

    Kate… I’m Taylor, Jordyn and Lindsey Kohles’ mom (from REZ)… I love reading here. This so spoke to me (not your knee…) but Isaiah 1. Bless you and thank you. It’s what I needed right now. God’s doing some “rebuilding” in my – from the bottom of my feet to the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

