Fire+Water

Dustin and I were at dinner with our friend Chris the other night and Chris mentioned a great thought on his walk with Jesus as being “fire or water”. Since last week I have thought a lot about this idea. It brings certain images or word pictures to my mind and really challenged me to look at the place I am currently in.

Fire. I know what fire feels like. I remember the first time I ever felt real fire in my heart. I consider it the time that I really received Christ into my life. I was in Jr High and all I wanted was to know Jesus. I finally understood after years of Kid’s Church who this Jesus was and the fact that he died for me. I remember wearing T-shirts that said “girl for God” and listening to Delirious: King of Fools over and over. I just simply loved Jesus. I loved Him so much. Those were such sweet, simple, innocent years. High School had not crept in yet, everything was fun and easy. There was a passion that was new and so precious. Jesus and I both look at that time with such fondness. I have had fire since then, here and there. Times of passion and power, but none as poignant as those first years.

Water. I am currently in water. Some days I feel sick from bobbing up and down, other days I feel like I might be going under or being swept out to sea. There are days when waves of hope and joy wash over me cleaning me from resentment and fear. But I don’t have fire. Can the two co exist? I don’t know. The water I am in is deep, I look down and see dark figures from my past just beneath the surface. I can’t quite make them out, but I know the Holy Spirit is calling me to be brave, to open my eyes and look. To be set free. As ominous as this scenario sounds, I feel such a peace. I know that I am not alone. I feel Jesus just as close to me now as I did in the times of Fire and I know that what He has promised me will be mine.

I was taught faith in the fire to make it through the water, and when my time of fire comes again I will be ready.

1 Comment

Filed under aiming at heaven, life questions, right?, sad stuff

One response to “Fire+Water

  1. Sharon

    On Fire and Water, I was given these verses in a trying time of my life and was encouraged by them:
    ‘But now [in spite of past judgments for …sins], thus says the Lord, He Who created you…and He Who formed you: Fear not, for I have redeemed you [ransomed you by paying a price instead of leaving you captive]: I have called you by your name; you are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you, and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned or scorched, nor will the flame kindle upon you. For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior…Because you are precious in My sight and honored, and because I love you…’ (Isa. 43:1-4)

Leave a Reply

