Sleeping Man in Foyer

sleeping man in foyer

This man finds his way to our couches in the church foyer every afternoon and takes his little post-lunch naps. He must be the most tired man alive. I don’t know who he is, I don’t know where he comes from. About a year ago Shelley and I decided to make contact with TSM (The Sleeping Man) and wrote a vague, nameless note that simply stated we see what he’s doing and wonder who he is. We quietly snuck down to the foyer, tip toed up to the couch and stuck it (it was on a sticky note) on the ottoman next to his shoeless sock. We scrambled up to the 2nd floor to watch his response. He slowly woke up, rubbed his eyes and noticed a yellow paper near his foot. He read it, quickly put on his shoes and walked out the door. We watched him go up the hill-to the lighrail we presume. Day after day we would go and check for him, but he was not there. We thought we scared him away and he is never coming back….that is until Monday.

Shelley is no longer here to be my accomplice, but I am compelled to write another note. Should I? Or should I leave the poor, sleepy man alone in peace? Have an opinion? Take the poll.

12 Comments

Filed under funny ha ha, Nerd Alert!, right?, stuff I don't like, Take the Poll!, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Sleeping Man in Foyer

  1. I vote to leave another note, but write something nice that would strike up a conversation, then leave some extra blank stickies and a pen so he can respond.

  2. Steve Tafoya

    ah leave him be. maybe he’s just finding rest in Gods presence. I’m guessing that’s the only place he can hang post-work, pre-going home. and who would blame him, those are comfy couches!

  3. ditto to what mark said haha.

    I love the fact the people just come and chill in our church.

  4. I met a friend-of-a-friend who asked where mark works. When I told him ORCC, he said “oh yeah, I used to go there after lunch and take a nap on those comfy couches”. Mark and I were so astonished….

    by looking at the picture, I don’t think it’s the same dude.

  5. oh, i remember those days. when you and shelley would mosey back and forth to my office to spy on the sleeping man. good times, good time.

  6. thatgirlkate

    Mark, I like your suggestion. Next time I see him I’ll try it…I am going to be so nervous! I need Shelley there to help me.

  7. thatgirlkate

    Poll Update: Option C is pulling ahead. If you disagree you better get your vote in there.

  8. Mary Hendrickson

    Ha ha! At first glance, I thought it was dad! 🙂 I think you should find a new accomplice and definitely write a note- it’s not very fun all alone. 🙂 But I wish I could be your accomplice. This just sounds so hilarious- watching this poor man try to get some rest and getting strange notes everytime he wakes up. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Poke him with a stick « 1or2thoughts

  10. Your dad knows who this man is and says you better leave him alone….no really he does know who he is! His first name is Bob, so I think you should write him a note that says, “Dear Bob, I appreciate all your hard work and especially the volunteer work you do for Pastor Pat, Thank you, God.” what do you think?

  11. Pingback: Blog Birthday! « That Girl Kate

Leave a Reply

