Yeah, you could say I am pretty excited.

Here are a couple things I am excited about:

1) Charlie Kaufman the writer of three of my favorite movies-Adaptation, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Being John Malchovich, has written and directed a new film called Synecdoche, New York starring Phillip Seymour Hoffman. The trailer is like a dream, the colors, the music, the feel, the amazing sets.

See the trailer here.

synecdoche-new-york

It says it was released in October, but it must be very limited release because I can’t find it playing anywhere in Denver. If you know where it is playing please let me know. Maybe we can go together…and I will buy you popcorn as a thank you.

2) The Flaming Lips have created a full length feature film called Christmas on Mars: A Fantastical Film Freakout Featuring the Flaming Lips. I was listening to a radio interview this morning with Wayne Coyne (lead singer of The Flaming Lips) where he was talking about the 7 years it took to make this crazy movie. Apparently he doesn’t care much about continuity in film and didn’t mind that one of the actors was a heroin addict when they began filming, then quit and gained 30 lbs which changed the look of the character he was playing quite a bit. I guess in one scene the guy walks out the door as skinner as a skeleton then walks back in 30 lbs heavier. Not to mention that Wayne Coyne has obviously aged quite a bit in 7 years and looks noticeably different.  Anyway, this movie is about a few things, Mars, a baby, a guy in a Santa suit, Wayne Coyne as a martian, and spaceships-all filmed in Coyne’s back yard.

You can watch the trailer HERE. Trust me, it’s worth it.

Christmas_on_Mars

Dustin and I are going to try and see the Midnight showing on Friday, November 14th @ The Esquire.

If you want to join us email me-kateg@mhmin.org

3 Comments

Filed under arteest, groupies, in my opionation, my opionion does matter, Nerd Alert!, new stuff, rad shizzz, right?, rockin' out

3 responses to “Yeah, you could say I am pretty excited.

  1. Dillon

    I was fortunate to see the premiere of the flaming lips movie in seattle last summer. it was in a circus tent and wayne was right there telling us about the movie before and after it.

Leave a Reply

