Marriage advice from…Will Smith?

I was watching Barbara Walters 10 Most Fascinating People the other night (lame, I know.) The first interview was with Will Smith, a guy that I hate to love. Anyway in the midst of his ego-stroking (his success and money, how it is guaranteed he could be President if he ever chose to run) he actually said something strikingly wise on marriage and this is what it was:

“Being married is the most difficult thing you’re ever going to do in your life.  And anybody whose married and divorce is an option, you’re getting divorced.”


9 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, I love my husband, in my opionation, Life and Marriage, more like Him, my husband loves me, my opionion does matter, right?

9 responses to “Marriage advice from…Will Smith?

  1. Stephen Tafoya

    ha ha, I saw that too… funny about the whole “hate to love” kind of guy cause that’s how I feel about him lol! He’s always jus always “chillin’ out max and relaxin’ all cool and all shooting some bball outside of the school…”

  2. my cousin in CA actually works with Will Smith and says he’s a really great guy.

  3. thatgirlkate

    From what I can tell, I totally believe Will Smith is a great guy. The reason I was surprised by that quote is not many in Hollywood would ever say that divorce is not an option in their marriage. Hollywood is known for their ridiculous divorce rates and weak beliefs on marriage. I commend him for standing up for something as sacred as marriage in an industry where marriage is seen as casual and flippant.

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Mark- yeah, Dustin and I decided that the “d” word doesn’t exists when we were first married 4 years ago. The idea of that is not new in Christian circles, but as far as I have ever seen it seems new in any Hollywood circles, and that is why I was surprised.

  5. that’s a good point. you don’t see that in hollywood at all. prayerfully the smiths can be good examples for the other married couples in their circle of influence.

  6. Too true! My wife and I, during a pre-marital counseling course, (which I would highly* recommend) came to that same conclusion. Marriage is incredibly challenging, mostly because so much of it is a personal challenge. “Will I chose to go out of my way and put someone else before me… or not.” Having an option to say “not” is setting yourself up to fail.

  7. thatgirlkate

    @ Archie: my husband and I were both told the same advice in our premarital counseling. Good point about the choosing to put the other person before you. When you’re first married that seems so easy, then as you go along you realize how selfish we all really are and how unnatural it is to put your spouse before you.

  8. pb&shelley

    @Teresa – my cousin IS Will Smith. booyah.

Leave a Reply

