Personal Favorites from 2008

Great Music:

Kanye West //808s and Heartbreak

Apples in Stereo //New Magnetic Wonder

Brooke Fraser //Albertine

Coldplay//Viva La Vida

Kings of Leon //Only by the Night

Black Kids //Wizards of Ahhhs

Bell X1 //Flock

Kyte //Kyte

Duffy //Rockferry

Books

Atonement //Ian McEwan

The Great Gatsby //F Scott Fitzgerald

Boy and Going Solo //Roald Dahl

Nine Stories //J.D. Salinger

Celebrate Recovery Bible

Movies:

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Atonement

There Will Be Blood

Quantum of Solace

Cloverfield

Juno

Iron Man

No Country For Old Men

Australia

Ghost Town

15 Comments

Filed under books, currently reading/listening to, in my opionation, music, Nerd Alert!, rad shizzz, right?, rockin' out

15 responses to “Personal Favorites from 2008

  1. I am so dissappointed in kanye being on that list! hahah.

  2. thatgirlkate

    @ Josh- then you have obviously not heard his latest album. : )

  3. Mary Hendrickson

    We just watched the Diving Bell and the Butterfly a couple nights ago. Wow! Amazing movie! Really makes you think about people who are going through something like that. The movies helped you to feel some of the things they might feel.
    PS- I like Kanye’s new album, too! But Henry is not quite so fond… 😦

  4. Bell, Black Kids and F Scott= Amazing
    Not a fan of Juno, but good soundtrack 🙂

  5. man, diving bell WAs incredible. I need to rewatch it.

    I have the new kanye on my ipod. It didn’t do anything for me. I sowwy. It’s too auto-tuned and boring (to my ears). For hip hop, I did enjoy the new Lupe Fiasco (might have been last year?)

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ Archie- Juno maybe should have gone in a “runners-up” list, because now that I think about it I only liked 2 things from that movie: Michael Cera, the soundtrack.

  7. thatgirlkate

    @ Mar Bear-it seems the new kanye album is either a “love it or hate it”. I think it’s fun, I esp like the Robocop song.

  8. thatgirlkate

    @ Josh-I forgive you, you big teddy bear you. I never listened to Lupe Fiasco-that I know of anyway. I gotta say it’s pretty hilarious to be talking hip-hop/rap with you! haha

  9. I still need to read the great gatsby!

  10. Stephen Tafoya

    What NO BATMAN MOVIE!?!?!? You have Kanye West and NO BATMAN! That’s ludacris! It’s kind of funny to think of a Children’s Pastor that likes Kanye West though! lol! It’s funny and wrong and funny again 🙂

    BTW, I’m gonna link your blog from my new blog, cool?

  11. Stephen Tafoya

    OH, and hey, where’s the TV section:

    Gotta always give props to Lost and other shows, like Sesame Street and … stuff

  12. thatgirlkate

    @ Stephen- The Batman movie was ok, but I liked the first one better. These are my personal favorites, and other people may not share my taste. And I think I kind of like that…

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. My technorati rating is in need.

  13. Stephen Tafoya

    Oh, Kate, you oughta know by now that I just like to pick on you since I can’t do it in person anymore! lol 🙂 I Like to see your HIP HOP roots showing a bit more however! But you have broken my movie lover’s heart about the batman movie 😦 you may be the only person I know who didn’t like it as much (or the first one more, though the first one was pretty good!).

    BTW, how has children’s been? We miss you guys! Crystal, Navi, and Ivan are doing well. My back is getting better, and yeah, it’s all good! Life is good, eternal life is better!

    SMILE 🙂

  14. i loved Ghost World! ricky gervais is awesome!

    there is one song on kanye’s newest album that makes me physically sick. otherwise, i can dig him.

  15. Update: Just saw Australia, good choice (there’s a review on da blog as well 😉

Leave a Reply

