Kate is a cat on a leash

When we were little girls, my sister and I would take our 2 very fat, very de-clawed, house cats (Midnight and Charger) out to the back yard. We would hook their collars into a long leash that was attached to a metal stake in the grass. Even though we thought it was great fun for the cats, in essence it was really torture. These poor cats would walk until the leash was about to snap, pulling hard as they traveled in circles around the yard.

There was one bright, sunny, summer day where I thought I would give these poor creatures a bit more freedom and unhooked the leash from the stake. The next thing I knew Midnight jumped over our fence right on top of the neighbors waiting dog, Rufus.  It maybe was half a second, but it felt like I watched as the black cat came flying back. in slow motion, over the fence, legs a kimbo, tail a fluffy-puff like she had been electrocuted by the dog. Luckily she landed on top of me star-fish style on my head and all I had to do was pry her back nails out of my temples. I quickly brought her back into the safety of our house, the only real territory she had ever known.

You might wonder why I shared this quaint, cute little anecdote with you. Well for one I just remembered it today and it made me chuckle to myself a bit. But the real reason I share this is because I see myself so much in this story. I am the cat who looks out the window at all the places I have never been or experienced. I am the one who pulls tightly on the leash I have been put on and wander in circles wishing for more. I want to travel, I want to see, I want to experience. Every six months or so I find myself pulling on the leash, to be set free to wander. I find myself resenting the present, checking on flights and job openings, wondering what else may be out there for me and Dustin. I know that outside of God’s will I will end up in the figurative jaws of Rufus, which no one wants.

Just as God created cats to be curious, He created me too. He knows my desire to explore and experience. He made me to be the little adventurer that I am. And even though I don’t quite understand why I am on this particular leash, in this particular yard, with these particular people, I am ready to stop pulling against God and instead lay down in the cool, damp grass and enjoy myself.

cat_on_leash

9 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, funny ha ha, i love cats. so what?, Life and Marriage, more like Him, Nerd Alert!, right?

9 responses to “Kate is a cat on a leash

  1. chicken soup for the cat lover’s soul!

  2. Do the jaws of Rufus smell like cigarettes and chocolate milk?
    I would think so.

  3. Hey, I’m in your yard…let’s play!

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Archie- how did you know?

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ Judi- I love that you’re in my yard!!

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ Josh- do you think I should submit my thoughts to Chicken Soup for the Cat Lovers Soul VI?

  7. Stephen Tafoya

    Wow, that blog/life lesson hits me on the head. I tend to get restless too, even now, longing for a life on the beach (much like your longing for England?). I never thought of it as laying down on the cool grass in the yard God has placed you in… and you’re right, God does know our hearts and desires… hey, He gave us those desires in addition to creating us, so I’m sure those desires turn up in God’s will at some time.

    WordPress tip for you: I noticed that your posts were posting at 10pm TONIGHT lol. I just recently found out how to change the zone time: under general settings, timezone, set it for UTC -7 for our time. Hope that helps, SMILE 🙂

  8. thatgirlkate

    @ Stephen- I am so glad that you related to this post. I hope you found some encouragement from it. We all need to be reminded to find contentment in the place God has us. Thanks for the timezone tip, I went and changed it! 🙂

  9. Mary Hendrickson

    Ha ha! I laughed out loud when I read this! I can’t believe you still remember that dog’s name! You have an amazing memory, dear sis! 🙂 Thanks for making me smile today. Love you!

Leave a Reply

