Forfeiting Grace

Celebrate Recovery teaches that SIN is a symptom of a character defect. When we allow God to remove the character defect the sin will naturally go away. For example, a man may cheat on his wife and this is the sin, but it is due to lack of self esteem which is a character defect.

I am currently on step 6 of 12 which is “We were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character”. I have felt pretty intimidated by this. I find myself naming sins when I am looking for “defects of character”. All my life I have only seen my sin, obsessively so. I have never really allowed myself to see the root causes of my behavior. I feel like it is justifying my sin, a cop-out, for me to say, “I do this because of this.” Now that I have been traveling and processing steps 1-6 I am starting to see how necessary it is to identify these defects of character and how it is not a cop-out but actually the only real way to escape the insanity of sin.

I was reading in Jonah a little while back. It’s one of those books that I read as a child but have not given a whole lot of time to as an adult. There is a part where Jonah, the probable author, is singing a song of praise to God for rescuing him from drowning in the sea and setting him back on the right path-his calling-to Nineveh. There is a verse that practically yelled at me from that passage:

“Those who cling to worthless idols Forfeit the grace that could be theirs.” Jonah 2:8

I realize how clinging to my sin, practically worshipping it by allowing it to reign, has meant forfeiting the grace that the Lord has for me. Forfeiting the freedom, peace and acceptance that grace brings. God is saying it’s time to look at the roots (the defects of my character), no matter how painful, embarrassing, or shameful, and start dealing with them. Honestly, it is so much easier to just deal with the sin. It’s hard work, this step 6. They say it’s the step that separates the men from the boys, and I see why.

celebraterecovery1

5 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, books, currently reading/listening to, in my opionation, Life and Marriage, more like Him

5 responses to “Forfeiting Grace

  1. Dustin

    That is a big principle to grab… we beg God to forcibly change our behaviors, when He wants to change our character. How disruptive it would be for Him to make abrupt adjustments to our character without the process of renewing our minds!

  2. this makes me think alot. alot. alot.

  3. when i was reading one of the devotionals a few nights ago, i realized that God doesn’t magically turn me into a new creation. there’s so much i have to let go of to allow Him to make those changes. the level of my being a new creation is equally proportionate to how much of me and my will i let Him have.

    thanks CR-mate!

  4. thatgirlkate

    @ Teresa- “the level of my being a new creation is equally proportionate to how much of me and my will i let Him have.”

    that is awesome. so good!!

  5. Great stuff Kate, thanks for being so transparent. I wish stuff like this was as easy as the example you used at the top of the post but… it’s not, or maybe we just won’t let it be. I’m constantly amazed (and distressed) at how strong things like my ego and the desire to “protect” myself can hold me back from truly fixing things in my life.

    But Christ didn’t die so I could protect myself (I needed to say that for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

