It’s about Process not Perfection

Dustin and I had an amazing conversation today about what we are both learning (with help from the Holy Spirit and Celebrate Recovery). Dustin was explaining how all his life he thought if he could just take care of sins, maybe not every sin, but at lease some, then he could lessen the weight that would hinder a closer walk with God. Like heavy stones tied to our necks, we drag ourselves along, hoping for some relief and an easier walk with Christ. In this struggle there is lack of true relationship with Christ. We try to tell ourselves it is all FOR the relationship, but the truth is it is all for perfection. We want the perfection so we can enjoy the relationship. We want to feel worthy to be called into unity with such a holy, perfect Lord. We want to feel justified and the only way to do this is to be rid of all sin, to somehow accomplish being sin-free, on our own.

We (or maybe I) have confused perfection with relationship. I have thought, this is all for YOU Jesus. My hearts desire is to be like you, to be a worthy vessel. I want the CONTROL of perfection, I want to be in charge of the steps of reaching this “perfection”. Instead Christ is calling us to join Him in the process. The process of looking at these past hurts, the past really bad choices and offenses; seeing how they effect my everyday decisions that ultimately lead to everyday sins. HE says to us, “let Me be in charge of the process. Let Me free you from the bondage of perfectionism. Let Me heal you from the past and establish your future.”

A process is about: relationship, unity, teamwork, honesty, setting and achieving goals, growing together, learning together, going deeper together.

Perfectionism is about: isolation, frustration, exhaustion, anger, resentment, an unattainable goal.

God is asking me, us, to surrender the perfectionism. Submit to the process and let Him reign over the changes and character adjustments that need to be made. He is asking for relationship. He is asking for honesty. He is asking to be let in.

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.”

Revelation 3:20

4 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, currently reading/listening to, I love my husband, in my opionation, Life and Marriage, more like Him, my husband loves me, rad shizzz, right?, rockin' out

4 responses to “It’s about Process not Perfection

  1. Stephen Tafoya

    I agree with this cause, really, perfectionism is basically a form of sin in itself because it stirs up pride, envy, self-loathing, etc… however, (and this is area where God has been speaking to my heart), in the process, we need to make the process goal to be Christ-like, wherein lies the dilemma we face as Christians: Christ was, is, and will always be PERFECT. And I think that’s why we need to realize that we are to be Christ-LIKE, and realize we won’t BE Christ. We will, in turn, be made perfect one day, but we have to remember that only happens when we are caught up in the clouds with Christ when He returns for us.

    That being said, good blog post: 5 out of 5 stars. On the blog style switch, and I have to say it again, your old style still screams Kate more than this one. The banner you have at top is AWESOME, but I guess the dilemma lies in your past blog style not being able to customize the banner at top like you can with this one. I’m just guessing here, btw… not sure why you really changed styles. It’s the year of change… it’s a process, right?? lol 😉

  2. thatgirlkate

    @ Stephen- thank you for the GREAT input!

    About the new blog- I really needed a change. The old blog is just a standard style that anyone can have. I wanted one that I could customize and make my own. I need to be an individual!!! 🙂 ha

  3. Stephen Tafoya

    I know what you mean about the blog though… the new one I now use for midnightocean I haven’t seen very much and like everyone has the old one I used from Late nite… I think the customizable header makes such a difference… and I like pancakes… alot.

  4. Hannah

    hit the nail on the head. The way I put it with my staff is: We do NOT strive after perfection, we strive after excellence. The difference between the two is grace. We will always fail in the pursuit of perfection but because of grace we learn from when the process is hard, or we fail, or we don’t quite get there and that is excellence.

Leave a Reply

