Broken Cisterns-a quote to ponder today.

“Men are in a restless pursuit after satisfaction in earthly things. They will exhaust themselves in the deceitful delights of sin, and, finding them all to be vanity and emptiness, they will become very perplexed and disappointed. But they will continue their fruitless search. Though wearied, they still stagger forward under the influence of spiritual madness, and though there is no result to be reached except that of everlasting disappointment, yet they press forward. They have no forethought for their eternal state; the present hour absorbs them. They turn to another and another of earth’s broken cisterns, hoping to find water where not a drop was ever discovered yet.”

-Charles Spurgeon
“My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns [wells] that cannot hold water.” Jeremiah. 2:13

I have experienced what it means to be in a restless pursuit of satisfaction; the description that Spurgeon uses is so accurate of those times and how I felt: that unquenchable thirst. I have felt the emptiness, the confusion and the frustration. It is an endless cycle of insanity. It is like drinking salt water waiting for my thirst to be quenched when all I am is thirstier and thirstier. It reminds me of Jesus and the woman at the well. He told her “Everyone who drinks This Water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

“This water”. What is “this water” in my life? It is the desire for more money, more possessions, it is the unhealthy relationships, it is the internet, movies, books and magazines. “This water” is everything in my life that I relentlessly pursue hoping for satisfaction and fulfillment. I have to come back again and again to get more of “this water”. For the woman at the well “this water” was love and relationship addiction- she had 5 previous husbands, and was living with a guy. She had no satisfaction and had to keep going back to find new love. How true this is in all of us. We keep going back again and again to the things that will never satisfy.

Once Jesus revealed to the Woman that it is was only Him who could ever quench that unquenchable place in her, she knew that what Jesus was saying was true. “Leaving her water jar” she went to tell everyone the good news.

I want to leave my water jar, my broken cisterns that have left me hopeless and dry. I want to establish myself at the spring of life, drawing only from its refreshing water. This is only found in the Word and through prayer. Let that be my source for satisfaction and I will leave all other jars by the old, dirty wells.

Charles_SpurgeonCharles Spurgeon 1834-1892.

10 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, currently reading/listening to, in my opionation, life questions, more like Him, rad shizzz, right?

10 responses to “Broken Cisterns-a quote to ponder today.

  1. This would make an amazing sermon Pastor Kate!!!

  2. Reminds me of C.S. Lewis: “We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.'”

  3. Stephen Tafoya

    Stephen T. = Huge fan of Spurgeon’s writing

    Spurgeon = Shakespeare of Biblical stuff

    BTW, have you ever read his life story? It’s been a while, but I think it ended kind of tragic if I recall correctly. I need my daily Spurgeon fix from spurgeon.org/daily.htm

  4. hayleybailey

    This is what the sermon at my church was about last week! Ah it totally changed my perception. Very well said. 🙂

  5. thatgirlkate

    @ archie- that is one of my favorite’s from C.S. Lewis. You’re right, it fits here perfectly.

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ stephen- I don’t think I have heard his life story. I am intrigued now and think I’ll look it up! As well as that link to the daily-spurgeon. 🙂

  7. emilia

    thank you, kate. i think i needed to read this today. i love overhearing your insights on this blog! :]

  8. Hannah

    love the quote- it’s so true! Great insight.

  9. Dexter

    Thanks for this. You couldn’t have better described how I’m feeling right now.

    Today is my birthday, a day that I’m told you’re supposed to feel happy and in a good mood. However, all I really feel is this down and out feeling that resembles the thirst you describe. Thank you for giving me something to ponder on this unusually depressing day. I need to figure out a way to put down the salt water, or

    • thatgirlkate

      Dexter,
      It’s days like our birthdays that make us look at ourselves a little closer, and sometimes when we do that we don’t like what we see. I pray that you find Jesus’ living water to fill those empty places today and you find HOPE.
      Thanks for your honesty, Dexter. It means a lot.

      Kate

Leave a Reply

