“Childhood smells of perfume and brownies” -David Leavitt

Dustin and I are moving in a couple weeks into a new place. While packing, I pulled down a box from the top shelf of our closet to find it full of childhood memories. Here are some snap shots:

jan_feb_2008-045

jan_feb_2008-050

katys_glasses

piggy_bank

softball_trophy

sega

james_and_the_giant_peach_movie_stub

to_God_from_Katy

insideofnote_inprove_in_friends

It’s strange how small objects from my childhood are vaguely familiar but bring up such strong emotions. I feel such a loyalty to the piggy bank missing an eye and my glasses from when I was in 3rd grade. I remember being lonely for friends and writing that note to God. Each one of these things represent a precious time to me and can’t just simply be tossed in the trash. So back in the old, beat-up box they go until I discover them again years from now.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to ““Childhood smells of perfume and brownies” -David Leavitt

  1. Mary Hendrickson

    I love it! So many memories in each of those items- except of course, your personal letter to God. You’re the sweetest. šŸ™‚

  2. Mary Hendrickson

    Someday, you and I both should go through all of our old childhood things!

  3. Mary Hendrickson

    Together. šŸ™‚

  4. 1. those glasses are in fashion again I think hah.

    2. I am so jealous of that game gear.

  5. All I have left from my childhood are trophies and 1st place medals!

  6. Sharon

    Awwwww…..

    PS we got more at our house.

  7. Stephen Tafoya

    1. I had a Game Gear just like that, and I’m pretty sure it ate through 6 double A batteries in like 10 minutes (Sonic the Hedgehog, Mortal Kombat were my games)… however, I HATED HATED HATED the Red power indicator light! It distracted me so I put duct tape over it LOL

    2. Those glasses look like Ben’s glasses from Lost!

    3. The 2nd pic, the doll, reminds me of something from a Tim Burton movie!

    Cool stuff! My Navi has my favorite childhood teddybear, Bobo Pumpkin Standard and I recently found one of my favorite transformers I used to play with… Gotta love the little things of the past!

  8. RIP Game Gear, you were so ahead of your time…

    If that’s a James Taylor ticket I’m smiling

    (Hopefully I’m taking the babe to his concert here for V-Day!!)

  9. Dustin

    I think you have inproved in friends.

Leave a Reply

