Beauty

I am currently reading Captivating by Stasi Eldridge for a small group that I’m in. It’s not a book that I would necessarily read on my own, but I don’t mind reading it for the group. I finished the first chapter yesterday and a certain excerpt really stood out to me:

My daughter Emma–nearly six years old–came to me all aglow this morning. She lay at my feet on my bed all stretched out as if she hadn’t a care in the world. “Mommy,” she said, “I had a wonderful dream last night.” “What was it about?” I asked. “I was a Queen,” she answered. And as she did her cheeks blushed pink.”Really!” I replied. “What happened in your dream?” “I was wearing a long, beautiful dress,” she said with hands gesturing downward, flowing. “Was there anything on your head?” I wondered aloud. “Yes, a crown.” “Hmmmm, why was that such a wonderful dream?” “I just love feeling that way!” “What way?” And with a sigh she spoke one word . . . “Beauty.” (Emma’s Dream, as told to her mother)

I love the carefree way that Emma describes the dream to her mom. Emma is a queen, and she is able to see it and feel it with no shame and even, now here’s a biggie: no fear of disappointment.

I can learn a lot from this little six year old.

little_princess

This is one excited little princess.

3 Comments

Filed under book worm, currently reading/listening to, in my opionation, more like Him, right?

3 responses to “Beauty

  1. dustin

    For boys it is similar, only it ends: “And with a sigh he spoke one word . . . “Ninja.”

    or “Robot”
    or “Hammerhead Shark”

  2. thatgirlkate

    @ dustin- for fletcher it was “treecall”

  3. Jenn Gray

    I finished Captivating in January – it was my 2nd read and I love it love it love it!

Leave a Reply

