Blog Birthday!

Today is the one year birthday of ThatGirlKate. Last year a group of blogging friends: Mark, Judi, and Josh Brage convinced me to give it a go. 180 posts and 50,000 hits later, this little blog has come a long way in just a year. Yes, most of those hits are from people searching “Lorenzo Lamas” or “pee pants” but still, they are hits, right Judi?

Blogging is an art form that is intimidating, alluring and challenging all at once, and it’s the author who is putting that kind of pressure on themselves. Just like any other art form, it takes time to grow and find your voice. Looking back over the last year of posts, I am a little stunned at some of the things I shared, some good and some bad. We all know what it’s like to post something that you regret, but that comes with the territory. You learn and move on. I am amazed at some of the posts that ended up being a real encouragement to others in their walk with Christ, making the scary transparency and vulnerability totally worth it. If God wants to use my insecurities, my downfalls and my questions to strengthen someone else, then so be it.

This year has been one of the hardest I have ever faced in my life. There have been some very dark, stormy seas. My prayer is that by 2nd birthday of my blog it will be filled with stories of life, hope, joy, miracles and maybe even a little new edition to our family. Something that we have been believing and praying for for a year and a half.

Thanks for reading my silly, little blog. I love each of you so much.

ThatGirlKate

guard-cat

Here is some of my favorite posts from this past year.

My hall of fame, if you will.

Snapshots from my childhood

Adrian Sudbury

Little Katy’s Summer To Do List

Music That Changed My Life

Chubby Girl vs Giant Pancake

Sleeping Man in Foyer

5 Comments

Filed under aiming at heaven, arteest, i love cats. so what?, in my opionation, Life and Marriage, more like Him, my friends., my husband loves me, right?

5 responses to “Blog Birthday!

  1. Happy Blog-Birthday Kate!
    Keep it up and keep being yourself!
    btw… how did you know I found your blog searching “Lorenzo Lamas?”

  2. mbrage

    Congrats, particuarly fond of the whole Sleeping Man bit.

  3. Hannah

    congrats on the one year.

  4. (BTW that’s a Quigley Down Under reference, right? Do I win something)

  5. thatgirlkate

    Congratulations Archie, you win a gold star!

Leave a Reply

