Love it or Hate it?

There are certain movies you either love or hate. People get pretty passionate and fired up about these movies, and I am one of those people.

Here are 3 movies I have chosen that seem to really divide people in taste:

1. M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village

The_Village

I love this movie. M. Night Shyamalan started off so strong with The Sixth Sense. It is by far his greatest movie. Then there was Unbreakable which I thought was great. The Village is his third movie and may not be as strong as his first two. Which seems to be a pattern because they just keep going downhill- anyone see The Happening? Yuck. I chose The Village as the movie I love because I know so many people who hate it. The story has so much thought and depth, and the cast of  Bryce Dallas Howard, Joaquin Phoenix, and Adrien Brody is incredible. I felt like the love story is sincere enough where you understand her need to go through danger and find help. The very thing that people find stupid about the movie- the fake monsters- is the thing that I learned the most from. It is an accurate analogy of how we are kept in fear by lies that end up running our lives. Maybe I am getting too deep with it, but that is what I got out of it.

2. Sophia Coppola’s Lost In Translation

lost_in_translation

I love this movie. Sophia Coppola may have ruined the Godfather III, but she has gone on to make some of the most amazing movies. Lost in Translation is the follow up to her first film The Virgin Suicides, which I also love. This movie was able to capture that feeling of being isolated and lonely  exploring a foreign country and the cultural shock that comes with it. The first scene of traveling through Tokyo at night is so captivating. You really feel like you have been in Japan for 2 hours.  One of my favorite scenes is where Scarlett Johannson’s character, Charlotte, goes on a day-trip to a visit a Buddhist temple outside Tokyo.  She experiences so much but feels so alone in it. I had a similar experience when I was in Amsterdam and this may be why I relate to the feel of movie so much.

Besides it capturing all the emotions of traveling, it also has Bill Murray. Enough said.

3. The Notebook

the_notebook

I hated The Notebook. Some people (girls) are going to be so sad that I am saying this, but it’s my blog and I can say what I want. I am not much of a chick flick person, unless it involves Romy and/or Michelle. I think the movie itself was really beautiful, the little town in North Carolina set in WW2, but the story of a rich girl falling for the poor, country boy is not a new idea. I can’t stand movies where they are pulling every heart string to get you to cry. The first 20 minutes of the movie was so bad that I honestly don’t remember the rest except the part where they both die at the same time. A sweet idea, but waaayyy too sappy for me. You might think I must have a heart of stone, but I just don’t like being manipulated into feeling sad to the point of tears over something so sappy, and this movie is shameless in doing just that. Sure I liked the scenes of a nice summer romance- ice cream, canoe on a lake, cabin in the woods. I am still a girl after all. I just don’t like how far they push the sentimental.

Those 3 movies are the only ones I could think of for today.I usually don’t do the whole leading question that begs for comments, but  this time feel free to agree/disagree, add some of your own that you love or hate. I am curious to see what people think.

18 Comments

Filed under i am feeling feisty., in my opionation, right?, stuff I don't like

18 responses to “Love it or Hate it?

  1. Adrole

    I liked The Village more than any other of M Night Shyamalan’s other movies. Sixth Sense was good but I hated Unbreakable.. ‘they called me Mr. Glass’ ha ha oh come on!! Yeah and I didn’t bother with The Happening, any movie with Mark Walberg speaks of badness.
    Oh but I love Lost in Translation, I have experienced being lost in translation enough, and sometimes am still lost in it living in England. It speaks to me, and also I have a major crush on Bill Murray! I am not ashamed of it, I love him a bit!!

  2. Adrole

    oh yeah, and at the time I liked The Notebook, heck i even bought the DVD.. I really liked the chemistry between the two, but the old people scenes were too much for me. Even though a young James Garner isn’t to hard on the eyes, as an old man I can do without!

  3. I do believe “Signs” was Shyamalan’s third movie and “The Village” would’ve been his fourth. Nonetheless, I liked both of these movies. I hate that his movies are going downhill, but it’s hard to top yourself when you began with movies like “Unbreakable” and “Sixth Sense.” Where do you go from there?? Down, that’s where you go.

    I hated “Lost in Translation.” I don’t get it. I don’t get why we should care about these people. My love for Bill Murray wasn’t enough to salvage this movie for me. But, I’m not a big fan Sophia Coppola. I cease to be impressed by her.

    I cried over “The Notebook.” Yep, I’m that girl. I cry over sentimental stuff pretty easily. I cried a little over a scene in “24” the other night. Seriously, I’m a leaky faucet.

  4. Dexter

    Shyamalan actually wrote and directed a movie before Sixth Sense as well, called “Wide Awake.” (It’s ok, but not on par with the two he made subsequently).

    Another one I can think of is Napoleon Dynamite. Put me in the “hate it” category for that one. However it’s mostly due to the overwhelming number of people who think their Jon Heder impression is sooo funny. Everytime I hear someone say “gosh!” I just want to punch them in the face.

    Other polarizing movies that come to mind are anything done by Will Ferrell or Charlie Kaufman. Actually, any art movie for that matter. There are people that just don’t get some of the more artsy or classic movies (Citizen Kane, Godfather come to mind).

  5. I am pretty sure I am one of the few people that thinks jared leto is a horrible actor. He is on par with nick cage.

  6. thatgirlkate

    @ Adriel- i have a crush on bill murray too. isn’t that weird? what is it about him? I really liked Unbreakable, but Dustin hated it like you. I liked Signs and totally forgot it was before The Village. Good call on The Happening, Marky Mark was not very good in it.
    When you are in the states you should swing by CO and see us! You are welcome in our home anytime. 🙂

  7. thatgirlkate

    @ Josh- i like looking at jared leto… but he was good in fight club. And I have mixed feelings about Nic Cage, he is AMAZING in Adaptation. It is one of me and Dustin’s favorite movies of all time. If you haven’t seen it you need to watch it. Other than that I don’t think I care for Nic Cage much either.

  8. thatgirlkate

    @ Dexter- Napoleon Dynamite is an excellent example of “love it or hate it”. I mad I didn’t think of that one myself. 🙂 I am in the “hate it” category as well and for the same reasons. When I first saw it in the theaters I laughed and really enjoyed it. Then everyone and their parents saw it and were quoting the same lines over and over.
    It’s sad that a movie can be ruined by other people loving it.

    Charlie Kaufman has made some of my favorite movies of all time- Being John Malchovich, Adaptation, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind and Confessions of a Dangerous Mind.
    I am definitely in the “love it” boat for him.

  9. thatgirlkate

    @ Teresa, yet again you win at pop culture trivia. You are right that The Village came after Signs.

    Don’t worry about crying during The Notebook, everyone did. That is the very reason I think I hate it. Girls put movies like that on just for a good cry. 🙂

  10. teresa

    @josh – jared leto acts? i thought directors just put him front of the camera to look pretty. My S0-Called Life, anyone?

  11. Dexter

    @kate

    That pretty much perfectly describes my Napoleon Dynamite experience as well. When I saw it in theaters, it was a little known art flick. However, all of the ridiculously overquoted lines ruined it.

    This reminds me of an interesting phenomenon, something I will call the “reverse bandwagoners.” When a movie like ND is not well known at first, but eventually takes off, there will inevitably be a group of people who will claim to have known about it before anybody else (most of these people will be liars). However, they will instantly develop a dislike for it simply because it is now mainstream. This effect seems to lead to a lot of “love it or hate it” movies. Those who jumped on the bandwagon will love it, and the wannabe hipster rebels who pretend to be above such mainstream media will hate it.

  12. thatgirlkate

    @ Dexter

    Guilty. I am a “reverse bandwagoner”, big time.

  13. I was just talking with some friends at lunch about Nic Cage…I gotta admit – I LOVE HIM!!!

    Face off, National Treasure, Lord of War, Con Air – Come on people!

    Funny enough, I consider myself a very very girly girl and I’m not crazy about the Notebook. I can’t even remember half of it and I’m not anxious to see it again anytime soon. I like more original chick flicks like Sex and the City….booyah!

  14. I agree with all of your thoughts here Kate, great (and terrible) films!
    I think the most interesting thing about M Night’s works are that most people who dislike them cite the fact that they “figured it out” before the movie was over. What does that even mean? How does that take away from the journey and the twists and turns the characters experience in their one and a half hour on screen? If life was just about the endgame like some people prefer their movies I can’t imagine what kind of world we would live in. I also bet these folks can’t watch movies more than once…
    Unbreakable was what I will call the definitive superhero movie. It was Batman Begins when Christian Bale was still selling ‘papes.’
    Lost in Translation is my second favorite movie of all time (behind Casablanca) and one of the most beautifully crafted films I have ever seen. Everything in it, from the music to the dialogue to the cinematography is a glimpse into the dream-scape of a world completely removed from my own. That said, if I had actually visited Japan my thoughts on this film might have been quite different. I also blame this movie for making me like Scarlett Johannson…
    No comments on Notebook, not a huge N. Sparks fan anyway, turning one of his books into a Hollywood movie sounds like snooze fest to me.

  15. seanmichaelbrage

    I love The Village. It is a movie I can watch over and over and still enjoy. I think it’s brilliant, and one of Shyamalamadingdongs best. I also thought “The Happening” was great, while we’re discussing polarizing movies.

    I thought Lost In Translation was a very good movie, and that Bill Murray was great in it. However, I wasn’t entertained enough to warrant repeat watches.

    Napoleon Dynamite is my favorite movie of all time. I can watch it anytime, with extreme frequency, and never tire. It never ceases to make me happy and pick me up. And I refuse to let my art house sensibilities make me hate is just because it became a pop culture biotch.

    Jared is a pretty, pretty man. His performance in “Requiem” made me cry on multiple occasions. But mostly he’s a pretty boy.

  16. Lauren

    I Absolutly Love the movie “the notebook”. infact its one of my favorite movies. yea i cried but it made me feel happy in the end to see that they lived happily together. it was by far a great movie, haterz back off!

  17. maddy

    i loved the village as well…i thought it was a great idea! i havent watched it in so long, i think i might just go and watch it now. and for the notebook, im not a sappy person, i dont cry for movies. but i do love it. i love the chemistry between the two of them and you have to admit, it was filmed beautifully and the costumes were great to. i love it, but not cause its sappy. haha

  18. Sanny

    I’m not the kind of girl who cries with a film but I know that th notebook is one of the best films I have ever seen. It’s very pretty.
    Sorry for my English, I’m Spanish 🙂

Leave a Reply

